Diamondback Terrapin Hatchling

I’m getting these guys at the wrong time of year!!! What is going on!?
This is the newest case of little terrapin visits the big pool!

This one looks like it could be of the carolina race.. My local terrapins have come up with extreme color variations. Technically, I live in the area of Malaclemys terrapin tequesta

As I’ve mentioned before, Diamondback terrapins are NOT protected in Florida. They are protected int he surrounding states and so, increased pressure is put on our populations from hunting and capture for the pet trade. I do not keep my terrapins although recently I’ve considered “growing” them to a larger size for release back into the river and tagging them somehow to see if I can locate them them later.

Leave a Reply

