Fashionable Feathers


Fashionable Feathers, originally uploaded by SavingFLorida.

At first, when I saw this Sandhill crane and it’s mate at Duda Ranches I thought it may be one of the subspecies we don’t see around here. Did you know there are seven? Well there are. Anyways.
It might be, but I can’t tell. What I can tell you from my digging into scientific readings.. Sandhill Cranes sometimes preen themselves with iron rich mud and they get this color that lasts a season long. This is one of the reddest I’ve ever seen..

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

