Grace

I’m convinced the definition of the word grace was written by some poor soul who had none of it. Quite clearly it is defined in the freedictionary as this:


grace
play_w2(“G0212100”) (grs)
n.

1. Seemingly effortless beauty or charm of movement, form, or proportion.
2. A characteristic or quality pleasing for its charm or refinement.
3. A sense of fitness or propriety.
4.

a. A disposition to be generous or helpful; goodwill.
b. Mercy; clemency.
5. A favor rendered by one who need not do so; indulgence.
6. A temporary immunity or exemption; a reprieve.
7. Graces Greek & Roman Mythology Three sister goddesses, known in Greek mythology as Aglaia, Euphrosyne, and Thalia, who dispense charm and beauty.
8.

a. Divine love and protection bestowed freely on people.
b. The state of being protected or sanctified by the favor of God.
c. An excellence or power granted by God.
9. A short prayer of blessing or thanksgiving said before or after a meal.
10. Grace Used with His, Her, or Your as a title and form of address for a duke, duchess, or archbishop.
11. Music An appoggiatura, trill, or other musical ornanment in the music of 16th and 17th century England.
tr.v. graced, grac·ing, grac·es
1. To honor or favor: You grace our table with your presence.
2. To give beauty, elegance, or charm to.
3. Music To embellish with grace notes.

Not much of a definition if you ask me.. Grace seems to be a gift bestowed by god, a blessing, an honor, and embellishment of sorts and even a state of being. How so then can grace be defined as one thing, when it’s so many that can’t quite be described.

For me, I find that grace eludes me. I relate wholly to the ungracefulness of Bella in Stephanie Meyers Twilight Saga. I trip over my own feet, my own words, and find myself clumsily running into things constantly. I’m perpetually worried about breaking my camera because of this. I refuse to drive go carts because I am quite possibly the only person to ever get stuck under the tire bumper.. I am not graceful. But I do recognize grace when it’s presence is made. This Tricolored Heron copied the techniques of the Reddish Egret and twirled in spinning dirvishes chasing small fish and bugs in the water. This was grace perpetuated in nature. A beautiful moving moment that one has to behold to appreciate. That is how I believe grace should be defined.

Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

