Viera Wetlands

As usual I made my Friday trip to the Viera Wetlands.  It was pouring down rain, but there was still a lot of photographic opportunity!  Among the birds I saw today in the rain included:

  • Blue Winged Teal
  • Northern Shovelers
  • Ruddy Duck
  • American Coot
  • Common Moorhen
  • Black Bellied Whistling Duck (2 parents, 12 new chicks)
  • Mottled Ducks
  • Marsh Wren
  • Common Yellowthroat
  • Savannah Sparrow
  • Anhinga
  • Comorant
  • Glossy Ibis
  • White Ibis
  • Belted Kingfisher
  • Red Winged Blackbird
  • Boat Tailed Grackle
  • Loggerhead Shrike
  • Northern Mockingbird
  • Bald Eagle
  • Cattle Egret
  • Great Blue Heron
  • Tri Color Heron
  • Green Heron
  • Pied Billed Grebe
  • Limpkin (Parent and half grown chick pictured)

that’s all I can think of now.. I’m sure I missed a few!

As always.. Birding tours with me at the wetlands are available at reasonable rates!

2 thoughts on “Viera Wetlands

Leave a Reply

