The Viera Wetlands 11-8-2009

DSC_0063This trip to the wetlands was a little different than my previous ones.  I met a group of about 20 something people that all use Flickr.

We chatted a bit then headed out into the wetlands. It was fun to be around so many enthusiastic photographers, but I think I prefer smaller groups and even shooting by myself.  I found it hard to concentrate and find things, and I talked a lot (just ask poor Heather, who volunteered to ride with me!)

We saw a lot, but it was windy, rainy, and cold

Here’s the list..

  • American Bittern
  • Northern Harrier
  • Caracara
  • Loggerhead Shrike
  • Belted Kingfisher
  • Northern Mockingbird
  • Anhinga
  • Cormorant
  • Blue Winged Teal
  • Hooded Merganser
  • Limpkin
  • Common Yellowthroat
  • Palm Warbler
  • Yellowrump Warbler
  • Eastern Pheobe
  • Savannah Sparrow
  • White Ibis
  • Glossy Ibis
  • Mottled Duck
  • American Coot
  • Common Moorhen
  • Pied Billed Grebe
  • Northern Shoveler

and of course, probably more I’m forgetting!

 

One thought on “The Viera Wetlands 11-8-2009

Leave a Reply

