Shooting kids (with a camera, DUh!)

When I first thought of this subject, I was simply going to title it “Shooting Kids.”  I figured it would draw people in.  Then I thought harder and the dust began to fly.  Shooting kids huh?  I’d have all kinds of whackjobs reading my blog for the how-to.  So, I qualified it as with a camera, and added the Duh for kicks. So anyways… enough about the evolution of my blog titles and on to the real reason I’m here.

I love shooting kids. Please don’t make me explain that again… I have a D90 not a twenty- ott- six.  Technically It’s more like reflecting than shooting, I’m still not sure how it got that name.  Back to the subject.  Kids are fun for me to work with.  I enjoy the most when they forget I’m sitting there with the camera and let it all go.  I like it too, when they know I have a camera, and turn into little show offs.

I love “Lifestyle Photography.” Love it, Love it, Love it.  It’s so natural, so real, it’s a reflection of real life, not still life.  I thought I’d show off a few of my recent favorites (taken by me) here.

I shoot with a Nikon D80 and use either a Nikkor 50 mm 1.8 or a Nikkor 70-300 F4.5-5.6 G VR.  All of these are natural light, no flashes involved.  I used seamless white paper background for one of the photos.

2 thoughts on “Shooting kids (with a camera, DUh!)

Leave a Reply

