Impossibilities- Viera Wetlands 01-10-10

Least Bittern

Now that we have warmed up to a balmy 45 F I thought I’d venture out into the wetlands hoping to find feeding frenzied animals.  I was kinda right. On my way there at 10 Am in 34 F weather I noticed nothing… thinking too much about getting there I guess.  On my way in I started seeing killdeer and never stopped.  There were hundreds of them lining Wickham road and into the wetlands.  Finally I made it.  Since I’ve been having camera problems I haven’t been getting my normal quantity of pictures and so, I’m just sharing this one today.  Here, as usual, I will post my species list for all to see and contemplate.  Happy Birding!

  • 4 Bald Eagles (1 second year, 1 third, 2 mature)
  • 2 Caracara (Carlos and Turtle, the regulars)
  • 4 Black Crowned Night Herons (2 Adults, 2 Juveniles)
  • 1 Northern Harrier (at Click Ponds, Male)
  • 2 Red Shouldered Hawks
  • Numerous Black Vultures
  • Occasional Turkey Vulture
  • 5 Snipe
  • too many Killdeer
  • Palm warblers (uncountable numbers)
  • 50-100 Tree Swallows (I got pictures, working on confirming)
  • 4 wood Storks
  • Great Egrets
  • Snowy Egrets
  • American Coots
  • Common Moorhen
  • Hooded Merganser
  • Mottled Duck
  • White Ibis
  • Black Ibis
  • Little Blue Heron
  • Tri Colored Heron
  • Anhinga
  • Cormorant
  • Ring Billed Gull
  • Osprey
  • Belted KingFisher
  • Eastern Pheobe
  • Marsh wren
  • Great Blue Heron
  • Green Heron
  • Ringnecked Ducks
  • Blue Winged Teal
  • American Kestrel
  • 2 Least Bittern
  • Sandhill Crane
  • 2 still fuzzy baby raccoons
  • Red Winged Blackbirds
  • Savannah Sparrows
  • Mourning Doves
  • 2 Common Ground Doves
  • Boat Tailed Grackle

Guide Services available on request..

Leave a Reply

