Luna

Luna

Ah, rescue dogs. I swore I’d never have another one after my last experience.  The kind gesture on our part turned into a dog that had so many issues that he was as much a burden as a dog, right up to the day he bit me in what seemed to me as a moment of senility.  I know it wasn’t his fault.  I know none of it was his fault.  But I also know that had I raised him from a puppy those issues, that couldn’t be cured with bloodwork, anti-anxiety medications, and all the efforts at behavior modification I made, probably wouldn’t be necessary.  I swore that was it.  My next dog would be a puppy, a purebred, pick of the litter puppy. I was wrong.

I often do things on a feeling of being compelled.  I was compelled to check craigslist one night.  I’m very, no, extremely wary, of craigslist listings.  I’ve inquired about a few animals on there before to no avail.  My inquiries usually include the words “why are you giving this dog away?” and “How much training have you done?”.  It’s a way of weeding out all the rescue dogs I would have if I could.  Needless to say, I have adopted none.  Then, suddenly, there is an ad… it says that she has a pointer, a female under one year old and she just wants to find a good home for her.  It says a little more and so, on a whim, I write her.  Suddenly, we are going to meet a dog.

Luna, and a gigantic white one eyed husky, are tied out on a six foot line between the house and a tree, within eyesight of the highway in a mound of dirt.  She looked grey and white, but she was friendly, and sweet.  While she wasn’t what I wanted I knew we couldn’t leave her.  Her current owner, the third or fourth of Luna’s short life, explains to me that she has been taken care of, that she is young, and shows me her paperwork.  She has been taken care of, but it’s apparent that between her big husky, her eight cats, her tumultous life, that she can’t care for her like she would like to.  We leave her there that night because her current owner has to contact her x boyfriend to make sure he really didn’t want her anymore.  Two days later, we had a dog.   She came home with a crate, with food, with heartworm prevention, for free. She also came with fleas, and dirt, that four baths finally cleared most of.  I didn’t want her. I wanted a healthy dog, a male dog, a lab or a border collie, or an australian shepherd, or even a german shorthaired pointer puppy.  I knew she would burst into a heat cycle any second, and I was right.  Now that we’ve lived through that whole world of grossness, she has been scheduled to be fixed, we found out shes actually bright white and dark, dark, brown, and now, I kinda like her.

She’s a smart dog, a gentle dog, she’s house trained, she’s intuitive, and she’s no where near as hyper as I expected her to be (she’s a pointer).  Her papers listed her as a different breed on each line, one a dalmation, one a bull dog, one a lab mix….  she might be a mix of something, but she is definitely, mostly at least, a pointer.  So, if you’ve given up on adopting dogs like I had, think about it once more, and then maybe you’ll get as lucky as we did. Maybe you’ll rescue a dog you don’t intend to keep and find what you’ve been looking for. If you find a female dog though, get her fixed the day you bring her home or plan on investing in a serious floor cleaner, doggy pads, and lots of febreze…

4 thoughts on “Luna

  1. Years and years ago when I worked at an animal shelter, there was an english pointer that came in….three times…each time she had run away from her owners that adopted her from us and each time the owners were contacted and didn’t want her back. She had to be kept in a kennel all by herself because she seemed to hate other dogs. She jumped up and was super hyper. But I knew that if I didn’t adopt her she wasn’t going to make it a fourth time. So, I took her home. She LOVED my other English Pointer that I had previously adopted from another shelter, she was completely housebroken and super CALM! She also loved large groups of people. I couldn’t find a single thing wrong with her. We had her for several years without a problem, finally having to put her to sleep because of cancer around age 13. We did finally figure out why she was coming back into the shelter so many times….. We were staying at my parents house for hurricane Andrew. I let the dogs out to go potty one more time before the storm hit. All of a sudden she was at the front door. I couldn’t figure out how she got out. So I put her back outside and watched her. She CLIMBED the chain link fence. AHA! Needless to say all previous owners were keeping her outside and all she wanted to do was be inside with the people.

  2. We are going through something similar to your last experience with a rescue. I am a German shepherd lover, and experienced two wonderful GSDs from breeders. Then I rescued another (still have him) who has, shall we say, issues. He is not the ideal dog by any means, but he’s here, he’s my boy, and has lived with me for 7 years now — mostly hiding in a closet.
    Our “border collie” (really an australian shepherd mix) rescue is another story. Crazy guy with “congenital issues,” missing most of his tongue, some behavior problems. He has growled at me a few times after I’ve caught him getting into the bathroom trash, his favorite pasttime.
    They are wearing, trying, and wonderful all at once.
    Good luck with Luna!

    • Bo, my last rescue, was adopted at 6 years old. we loved him, put up with tremendously unlikable behaviors and I cried when I made the decision to let him go. It hurt me beyond explanation that I had tried so hard, and just couldn’t help him. He was a great outside dog, but he wanted to be inside where we wanted to keep him. After he ate everything that might have ever had food on it, including drinking glasses (the glass kind), couches, every dog bed we got him, and peed on everything we owned, it hurt really bad when he turned around and bit me twice for telling him to drop a napkin he had stolen from the tipped over trashcan. Like I said, I know it wasn’t really his fault, and maybe even partly mine because I was so frustrated, but it couldn’t go on anymore. It broke my heart. We’re so lucky with Luna though. She’s young and her scars aren’t so deep. super sweet. Thanks for all your comments, sorry if I shared too much!

  3. That was such a moving set of dog experiences, including Luna’s tale up to the present. I know we are all happy that she will have a chance to mature into a loving beautiful dog and that you will be as happy as she.

    Thank you all for sharing your stories and. when I wipe my eyes, I may read them again.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

