Driftwood Worms? For Real?

So while I was out at Jetty Park (See last post) I came across this beautiful piece of driftwood.  I started looking at it and noticed these cellulose like tubular casings in it, and perfect holes drilled right into the middle of each open end.  My other hobby, besides being a photographer, is being a researcher.  I brought this picture home and learned that these are called Teredo Worms, or ship worms.  They have brought down bridges, ate through hulls of boats, and are not really worms at all.  Apparently, in Florida, they are the bane of all wooden boat owners, and there are very few ways to stop them.  Check out the picture!

Just thought I’d share.

Leave a Reply

