The Vet Tech life continues.

Jamie Drake©

Jamie Drake ©

So I haven’t posted in a while. I’m finding that a fairly normal thing for most bloggers, and I’m okay with that.  I’m not looking to get a corporate sponsorship or anything (although, I wouldn’t mind.  I’d write a LOT more, I promise!)

What I have been doing is working. If you haven’t read any of my other blog posts you may not know that I’m a Veterinary Technician, a photographer, a mom, and an American Picker (that means I buy and sell old stuff).

I work on an Air Force Base in a US ARMY Veterinary Clinic.  It’s different than your traditional small animal clinic.  We see mainly dogs and cats, but our mission is based around the welfare of the Working Dogs. They are often referred to as K-9’s.  We also have some working cats on base too.  We don’t have a full functioning facility, we don’t offer radiology or hospitalization, we don’t have kennels, and the hours are awesome.  We do see a lot of patients though, for everything under the sun (but mostly fleas and allergies), and we conduct surgery and dental cleanings.  We refer out anything we aren’t equipped for.  It’s fun when it’s running smoothly, but like all government organizations, there are a ton of strings and rules and regs.

We also do a lot of exporting of animals.  I know how to get your pet to Japan and Hawaii and Guam and Puerto Rico. Even how to import into Qatar; just to name a few.  Sometimes it doesn’t go all that well for the owners who find that quarantine isn’t an easy process.

One of my favorite aspects of work is the people.  Military pet owners are the bomb.  They are happy we are there to help them and they care deeply for their pets, as evidenced by the copious amounts of paperwork they are willing to do on a rotating assignment basis.  We even care for some of the special therapy dogs for wounded warriors, pets for vets, and others.

We see some crazy stuff, as I’ve mentioned before.  Not all of it is good, but I’ve learned so much just because these pets come from all over the world.  We had a bull terrier in for an exam one day. She came from Mexico and she had heartworms, anaplasmosis, erlichia, and intestinal parasites.  It kind of put into perspective that our veterinary care is working, since most of the world doesn’t have the advantage of dewormers and flea and tick prevention.

I won’t end up with any funny stories today, just remember to care for your pets to the best of your ability, give them good attention, and make sure you check their TEETH!

If you’re interested in hearing about anything in particular please leave a comment.  I’m always looking for those!

Signing off for now, Jamie

Leave a Reply

