The word is SPAYED, not Spayded

caseynluna

Say WHaaat?

As a veterinary worker, I deal with people of all varieties on a daily basis.  I am a very understanding person, I get that common things in a veterinary hospital aren’t common elsewhere.  However, there are a few words I would love to set my clients straight on.  I don’t usually, because it’s kind of a futile effort.  No one cares if spayded is actually spayed, well, no one but me.  So in an effort to correct the misuse of a few of my favorite words, and to dispel the occasional myth, here is my breakdown of misunderstood veterinary words.

  1. Spayed.  (pronounced spade, long a silent e): This refers to a female dog or cat who has been “fixed” or altered.  This means they have had their internal female organs removed.  It means they can’t have puppies, or kittens.  If they still have heat cycles, they aren’t spayed. This word is often pronounced spayded or spayyed, I don’t know why. But please, stop.  It also doesn’t refer to male animals. Your pit bull with giant kahones is not spayed.
  2. Trifexis (i’m not going to enunciate): It’s Trifexis, not triflexis, or tivevexis, or triplexis.  TRI-Fexis… it’s a combination of heartworm prevention, flea prevention, and dewormer. Which leads me to my next topic
  3. Comfortis: Often mispronounced as confortis, confort, comforting pills, that pill i give to make them more comfortable… it’s comfortis, and it’s a flea medication, not heartworm prevention.
  4. HEARTWORMS: oh my goodness people. You do not bring me the poo sample so that I can check for heartworms, and you can’t give one heartworm prevention pill once a year to prevent heartworms.  It’s a monthly thing, and I DO have to take a blood sample to check for it, especially since you just asked me if that’s why I need the poo sample. If you’re not getting what I’m saying, you might want to check out this site: American Heartworm Society.
  5. Fecal SAMPLE:  Ok, first, lets look at this combination of words.  Fecal means poop, we all got that.  Sample means a small part of something representing the whole.  I do not need three lumps and a log to check your dog’s stool for parasites.  I really, really don’t.  One lump will do.  And please, please, please, don’t ask to have your tupperware container back.  It’s a little disturbing. Wanna know why I need this sample? Check out the Companion Animal Parasite Council.

Well, that’s enough veterinary griping for now.  I apologize in advance if your a member of the spayded club, or a triflexis user, but I just can’t help it.  Are you a vet tech?  What’s your favorite misunderstanding?  Or maybe you’re an owner and would like me to explain something for you… Go for it, my comments are lonely.

Leave a Reply

