Wigeons at the Click Ponds

wigeonI went to the click ponds (the ponds north of the Viera Wetlands) this evening.  While I was looking around I noticed a flash of wings that were definitely not a blue winged teal set.  I was giddy as a beautiful pair of American Wigeons landed in front of me.   They really are beautiful birds.  I can’t be sure these are the same two I saw weeks ago, but I can say that I have seen them there for at least three weeks! This is late in the season for these migratory birds, and I’m wondering if they might choose to breed here. I guess time will tell.

Leave a Reply

