What is it about Dogs?

DSC_0291

What is it about dogs that draws us, as humans, to them.  Is it a need for friendship, a longing for a bond that isn’t superficial? Maybe it’s an instinctual drive to befriend a predator and keep them around to our advantage.  Maybe, like many ancient people believe, they are spirits of our ancestors, and we are all really connected somehow.  I don’t know, I don’t really care either.  I just love dogs.

In my line of work I have met thousands of dogs, and in each one, even the worst behaved, the noisiest, the most annoying, I still found something when I looked in their eyes.  I think it’s a bond that I’ve had since childhood, and I have a hard time acknowledging that other people, even really good people, don’t like dogs.  I can’t fathom the world without them. I don’t want to.

So I guess it makes sense to admit that I love photographing dogs, although I need much more practice at it to achieve an individual style.  I tend to go for portraits and eyes, and the standards, and I want more.  So here’s a few photos that I’ve taken recently, one with some creative license.

Enjoy!
DSC_0303 DSC_0793 DSC_0926 DSC_0936-001 Hank

Leave a Reply

