The Chicken Reaper

This visitor to my chicken coop didn't thought I was raising food for him.

This visitor to my chicken coop thought I was raising food for him.

I looked out my window to see this juvenile Red-Tailed Hawk eating one of my Barred Rock pullets.   I’m not really happy that I had to sacrifice a chicken for this shot, but I guess I’ll take ’em where I can get ’em.  Needless to say, I shut my chickens into their coop for the rest of the day.  Now that this bird has found the buffet I’m sure I’ll be losing more.  I had to sneak around the back side of the house in 6″ of snow to get this shot, I had two minutes, then my camera fogged up and my visitor, the chicken reaper, flew away.  I shot on automatic this time, since it was a grab and go moment.

2 thoughts on “The Chicken Reaper

  1. Pingback: Okay, sometimes you have to wait for Christmas Presents… | The Life and Times of a "Renaissance Ronin"

Leave a Reply

