Me, Grumbling AIbout Christmas Cards.

DSC_0167Warning: I am about to go off into a Christmas card inspired tangent.  This has nothing to do with my normal topics of nature, photography, or homesteading.  Heck, it’s not even about  my kids.  It’s about Christmas cards and how irritated I am that no one has sent me any.  Well, not no one technically.  My aunt, my realtor, an almost relative, and a cousin who I just met have sent one.  I on the other hand, have sent cards to everyone I could think of that might want to know I have been thinking about them this Christmas.  Because that’s what the point is right?  To let people know you are thinking of them.

So here’s the thing. I moved this year.  Far away.  I don’t see my family and friends anymore. I don’t get to go to birthday parties, I don’t get to have one.  Not like I used to.  I made a serious effort after moving here to send notes and cards to all kinds of relatives.  I even asked for addresses, and half of them didn’t give me one, so they didn’t get anything.  I didn’t really expect anything in return, and sadly, I didn’t get anything in return either.  I stopped that recently and went to sending a Christmas card.  I sat down and spent at least an hour and a half writing and addressing cards, because I felt like I would like to let everyone know that I was thinking of them, and this was the least (or in the case of this year, the most) I could do.  I chose to not send an e-mail, not post on facebook, and instead decided  to hand write these cards.  I’m not sorry I did it, but I don’t feel like it was appreciated, and I’m probably not going to do it next year.

Maybe I’m being self centered and ridiculous, but in sending these cards, I made myself feel bad when I haven’t received any from the vast majority of people I sent them to.  Maybe it’s a conglomeration since no one responded to my letters and postcards and now no one has sent me a Christmas card.  I guess I’m a little upset. I’m upset because no one could take the small amount of time, knowing that I’m far away, that I’m probably lonely, and missing my family (as evidenced by my phone calls and letters, and me outright saying so), to send me a damn Christmas card. I guess there’s still hope, seeing how officially Christmas is 5 days away, and I can only  hope that in between now and then I will be getting some cards.  I’ve made my grumbly Christmas card post.  Now I’m going to go photograph some birds.

If you want me to send you a Christmas Card I will, because I believe in them.  Leave your info in the contact form. I don’t care if I don’t know you, or you don’t know me.  It’s Christmas.

I love all of you, now send me a card.  _jamie

Leave a Reply

