This dog loves snow.

Luna Loves Snow.  That’s all there is to it.  She loves it.  I thought, when we moved here, that winter would be a challenge for her.  She’s short haired and she’s from Florida. I thought she’d refuse to go outside when the snow fell.  I was SOOO wrong.  After a few snowfalls I found her outside digging.  Plowing it with her nose looking for mice and shrews I guess.  I thought about it, then, I did something I don’t usually do and let her outside the fenced area.  It’s not a problem here, we live out in farm country, but it makes me nervous to let her go like that.  I was shocked when she ran around our farm, in the fresh and falling snow, for almost an hour.  She loves it, but only when she’s loose.  If she’s in the backyard she won’t stay out for more than enough time to do her business.  I think it’s great.  I do worry about her paws though, and I’ve noticed that when she comes in her feet are bothering her.  Any suggestions?  She won’t wear boots, or a coat.  I’m pushing it with a collar.  Whatta dog!

I took these photos with a Nikon d7000 and a fixed 50mm 1.8 lens.  They are cropped.  I used 1/640 f22 iso1000 shutter priority in RAW.  I usually overexpose, but didn’t this time since there was really nice light.

Luna in Snow Lunarunning Lunasniffing

 

Thanks for reading! Stay warm.  – Jamie

Leave a Reply

